Intro to Geek #10, Shauncastic 110

Shauncastic 110

Week 2 of the Long Halloween is up and running! So you know how I said that I wouldn’t be participating in this event in the show proper because I spent the better part of my younger years being a pansy? After saying that, my brain started a list of scary-ish movies that I’ve seen. While still small compared to most of you freakazoids (I say that with love), it’s a respectable size long enough from which to pick and choose. I want to share with you my list of other movies I didn’t get a chance to talk about because I think they’re also worthy enough for a Halloween sit-down. Now, I accidentally deleted my original list but was able to recall most of it:

  • Candyman (Tony Todd is a sweet man, but he still scares the crap out of me because of this movie)
  • Arachnophobia (two words: John Goodman)
  • The Witches (Angelica Houston is devilishly superb)
  • Death Becomes Her (Bruce Willis, Meryl Streep, and Goldie Hawn are hilarious)
  • Attack of the Killer Tomatoes (admittedly, I remember the cartoon better than I remember this movie)
  • Slither (Capt. Tightpants is in it. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have watched it)
  • Mimic (It’s bad, I know. But big ass cockroaches taking human form to eat your face? No thank you.)
  • Let the Right One In/Let Me In (either movie is great. ‘Let Me In’ tends to be more violent than its foreign predecessor)
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer (the movie)
  • Bubba Ho-Tep (It’s got Bruce Campbell. The End)
  • Splice (It’s more freakishly messed up than scary)
  • Thirst (from the director of ‘Oldboy’)
  • Dead Snow (Nazi Zombies. Need I say more?)
  • Pan’s Labyrinth (If fairy tales were told in their original grim format…and in Spanish)
  • The Orphanage (Ghost kids. Creepy)
  • Devil’s Backbone (Again…ghost kid. Still creepy)
  • Tucker & Dale Vs. Evil (The name alone should get you to watch this)

And this week in Intro to Geek, I take a look at one of sci-fi’s classics, Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan. There isn’t much more to say about how much I have come to appreciate this movie — especially now after I’m slightly more versed in the science fiction, space exploration category, and in the explanation you’ll hear in the podcast. All those Khan references make sense to me, even ones I didn’t KNOW were from the movie (“Can I cook, or can’t I?” comes to mind). If you’ve seen J.J. Abram’s Star Trek, the Kobayashi Maru test scene is merely the window of how awesome and tricksy Kirk becomes as he gets older.

And let’s not forget the unforgettable scene even non-Trekkers know about: Spock’s heart-wrenching death scene. I teared up a little as I watched his scene in its entirety for the first time ever.

This is a definite must-see for anyone who loves movies in general. Star Trek has a way of bringing home the classics in literature and ideas. In this case, we see and hear throwbacks to Herman Melville’s Moby Dick.

Timeline Notes!!!
Intro To Geek: 8:20
The Best Scary Movies You Haven’t Seen Lately: 24:45

Unfortunately there is no Spears and Crumpets this week due to Ms. Jenna Busch workin’ the New York Comic Con last weekend like a boss. But! Here’s some nice filler for you until next week:

Check Out the AWESOME Article on the Women of Geekdom at The Nerdist

Note!!!
I mentioned THE UNKNOWN at the end of the podcast. It truly is messed up, freakishly good miniseries. It stars Dominic Monaghan as a blogger trying to get behind some mysterious, supernatural occurrences happening all over the country. It’s a great little anthology series brought to you by Crackle.com and the producers of SONS OF ANARCHY and CLONES WARS. It’s no longer available on the website, nor can I play an episode on Crackle’s YouTube channel. It is, however, available at a Red Box near you! So get out there and rent it! WARNING: Not for the faint of heart.

Leave a Reply

