The Growing Trend of Geek-Inspired Makeup

I did say that I was a super big Mass Effect fan, right? Well now you know.

For a while now, I’ve noticed this creeping trend of movie and geek inspired makeup. The ones I can think of off the top of my head are OPI’s Skyfall line of polish and CoverGirl’s Capitol Collection inspired by The Hunger Games: Catching Fire. While perusing the internet at the doctor’s office earlier today, a friend linked me to an online store that just came out with a new eyeshadow color. It is called “What’s Under the Helmet?” and it’s one of now eight in a Mass Effect-inspired collection of eyeshadow by Geek Chic Cosmetics.

We may never truly know what’s under Tali’s helmet (that altered stock photo cop-out in ME3 doesn’t count), but we do have a pretty good feeling that any Mass Effect fan with an eclectic taste in makeup may go batty for this.

One of the biggest suppliers of geeky makeup is Geek Chic Cosmetics who creates “vegan, gluten-free, cruelty-free loose mineral eyeshadows, foundations, blushes and scents as well as nail polish, lip glosses and lipsticks based on [their] geeky inspirations.” Seriously, the range goes from Portal to Supernatural to The Walking Dead.

There are some who know the perils of buying just any makeup (buying the right makeup is stupid hard and confusing). Some brands fill their products with various weird fillers (to keeps costs cheap and competitive) that may cause break outs, full-on allergic reactions, or just uncomfortable itching. The people at Geek Chic reassure that they “follow strict preparation and sanitation rules and conform with all FDA regulations” and are “careful to label any potential allergens very clearly, while leaving out the skin irritants….”

Being a first-time buyer of their products, I have yet to experience whether or not they are a worthwhile endeavor for me; however, I know plenty of my mutually geeky female friends already partook in some of Geek Chic’s custom formulas and have never turned back.

I just ordered the entire N7 and Portal Collection from Geek Chic’s Britain-based partner, Janine Basil (she had a couple more colors in the N7 Collection that Geek Chic no longer offered). Janine also carries these gorgeous fascinators and other hair accessories that I just adore. Darn my having only limited amounts of money! Where’s my water tower full of gold?

UPDATE: How could I forget Espionage Cosmetics?! They too have geeky cosmetic lines and look books that are pretty fun to pine over. They recently killed it on Kickstarter with their fabulously geeky nail art.

Espionage Cosmetics

One comment on “The Growing Trend of Geek-Inspired Makeup

  1. This is such a cool culture clash! I have been getting more into nail art and make up lately, but as a geek, I don’t want to look like everyone else; I want to stand out. This is the perfect way to do so while also showing off your fan love!

Leave a Reply

