Intro to Geek #6, Shauncastic 106


Shauncastic 106

Shauncastic 106 is out, and guess what? I’m joining the cast this week! In this episode, I join Shaun and CB to discuss DC Comics’ New 52 universe, one year later. We give our impressions, the highs, the lows, and what we predict to see in the coming future.

That’s not all. In this edition of ItG, we take a look at Terry Gilliam’s Time Bandits. I tell you, this one was a weird ride. The kind of ride for which you might consider taking acid. Or maybe you’re already on it O_o

And don’t miss Jenna Busch’s “Spears and Crumpets” segment at the end of the show. The geek goddess herself will guide you through all of the nerdy things you should check out this week. Like, RIGHT NOW.

Also, be sure to hashtag #SoSayWeAllPony to Hasbro on Twitter  so we can make Jenna Busch a My Little Pony!!!!

Timeline Notes:
Intro To Geek: 10:17
The New 52 One Year Later: 23:10
Spears and Crumpets: 01:28:24

P.S. In case you’re wondering, here is Shauncastic’s first conversation about the New 52.

4 thoughts on “Intro to Geek #6, Shauncastic 106

  1. I’ll give you my personal highs & lows and what I predict to see in the coming future.
    Let’s start with the lows.
    DC heavily distorted one of my favourite characters (Green Arrow), and this is something really difficult to accept. His distinguishing mark was his maturity: now he’s just a young hero like (almost) everyone else, from Spider Man to Superboy. I understand they had to link the comic book to the upcoming tv series, but they could have done that in a far smarter way: for example, they could have created a comic series narrating his early days as Green Arrow, like Marvel did with “X – Men: First Class.” When you reboot a character, you can change everything but his spirit: DC didn’t follow this simple but essential rule, so they haven’t been faithful both to their tradition and to their public.
    Another thing I don’t like of New 52 comics is their excessive violence: only in the ones I read, I found a decapitated man (Voodoo # 7), a woman eating a man’s head (Voodoo # 5), 3 characters run through from one side to the other (Earth 2 # 1; Demon Knights # 8; Voodoo # 8), a cut off face (Detective Comics # 1) and a cut off hand (Batwoman # 7). And, of course, a lot of human blood in each one of this panels.
    But there are also a lot of good things to say about the New 52 line.
    In the last year, DC gave us some wonderful series, like Blue Beetle, Team 7 and, most of all, Animal Man.
    What makes Animal Man so special is the way Lemire deconstructs the superhero mythology. For example:
    1) Superheroes tend to monopolize the attention of the reader, while Animal Man is constantly upstaged by the supporting characters of the series.
    2) Superhero comics usually don’t give much importance to the private life of their main character (they tend to focus only on the “costume on” part); in Animal Man, on the contrary, the private life of Buddy is the main theme of the series. In fact, it is rather infrequent to see Buddy with his costume on.
    3) Buddy is not perfect, and is not perceived as perfect by other people: in fact, in the 11th issue, when he tells his wife “It’s going to be okay”, she replies “Don’t give me anything of that superhero crap, Buddy.” That cut and thrust perfectly enlightens the philosophy of the series.
    Also, the TP of Grifter I bought last month was a very good read as well. I don’t want to use the word “masterpiece” because, like the word “cult”, nowadays everybody employs it too often, so it lost a lot of its significance, but I was on the verge of using it for that TP.
    Now I’ll give you my predictions about the upcoming 4th wave.
    Jim Lee left Justice League, and a lot of bloggers (me included) think it’s because he’s going to work on an old series DC is planning to relaunch, WildC.A.T.S.. It was him who created this series, exactly 20 years ago.
    If you have an A-list artist, you give him an A-list series: WildC.A.T.S. would be a C-list one, so, in a normal situation, Jim Lee working on it is pure nonsense.
    But maybe in this case Jim Lee sticked obstinately to this project because he wants to bring his old series back to life, and DC decided to indulge his whim because otherwise their working relationship would have gone really uptight, and it would have ended as soon as possible. Jim Lee on a C-list title is better than Jim Lee on a Marvel title, DC thought.
    I hope Jim Lee won’t write WildC.A.T.S.: he’s an awesome penciller and he’s very skilled with creating characters (think about Grifter, for example), but his 90s stories were boring as all hell. Since then he always worked with the most talented writers, so maybe he learned something from them and got better, but I don’t think so: writing well is a talent, not a technique, so you can’t learn it from anybody, no matter how good your teacher is. Good writers are born, not made.
    But maybe all this hype about Jim Lee working on WildC.A.T.S. will be proved wrong: perhaps Jim Lee doesn’t want to slip back (especially now that he’s at the top of his career), no matter how fond he is of WildC.A.T.S., and perhaps DC never thought to bring WildC.A.T.S. back to life. Only time will tell.

  2. I have to ask, were you doing something else while watching Time Bandits? While it is a little offbeat I never thought it was all that hard to understand and its something that my brothers and I watched when we were little kids. I think that Shaun was right that this was “Monty Python” for kids and I think that it did play well with the desired audience. I think that the majority of us who like this movie watched it when we were children.

    Oh and the parents die at the end because they were so awful to the kid. I always thought that the idea was that the dwarves pull the various protagonists into the kid’s time to help him get started on a new life because he helped them and his old one sucked.

    1. I truly wasn’t doing anything while watching Time Bandits. This movie is too bizarre to take your attention away.

      Indeed I think this movie is for those who have seen this when they were kids. Since I am not of that group, I don’t have that nostalgia to soften the blow that Bandits delivered. I was a little lenient on this movie for specifically that reason. But if I were given the option to watch it again, I’d rather watch Sesame Street.

      And of course the parents deserved to disappear, they were awful human beings. But the way they went was very abrupt and just worsened the kid’s life, at least in that moment. Who knows, Sean Connery could have come back to adopt him. Or he could have been passed around, foster home after foster home, or whatever. We just don’t know.

      Holy Grail’s ending was better, because you kind of saw those bizarre, seemingly random hints throughout the movie.

      1. Ok for some reason I thought that you had said something like that you didn’t think that it would have played well with its desired audience and I was letting you know that we all loved it. I mean how can anyone not like anything David Warner is in? He is the awesomest actor of all time. I am a little surprised that you’d rather watch Sesame Street. I can’t stand things that overtly talk down to me. While Time Bandits can be a little silly it certainly doesn’t patronize me and that’s one of the things that rankled me about “kids shows” even when I was a kid.

        You tend to be harsh though. My wife is your age and I showed Time Bandits to her a few months ago and while she didn’t think it was the most wonderful thing ever she thought it was ok. Ditto Tron although I showed that one to her a month or so before Tron: Legacy. I will admit though that I am a sucker for anything with time travel. Its my favorite sci-fi concept.

Leave a Reply

