Intro to Geek #13, Shauncastic 113


Shauncastic 113

Oh my glob, you guys! I’m sorry for the lateness again. I’d tell you what happened last week, but frankly, I can’t remember what I did other than work. Anyway, this week the Shauncastic cast talks about FARSCAPE. Frankly, while it was out, I avoided watching this show–except for when I was at a friend’s house after school, she made me sit though it. Thought it was too weird; however, I’m sorta kinda powering through the series currently so I’ll have a real opinion later.

So this week’s Intro goes to Max Brooks’ best-selling novel, WORLD WAR Z. I got this book way back when I was in college, but I never got a chance to really sit down and read it. It offers a whole new look at how we see the zombie apocalypse, which is through personal experiences from a variety of civilian survivors from key locations, military personnel, scientists, and etc.

There are so many great stories. One that I did forget to mention in the podcast was a personal account from a someone who was part of a K-9 unit. Yes, dogs serve an important role in the Zombie War. They do recon, they lead groups of Zs shambling though an adjacent building and let them fall to their deaths. It’s a great little moment when that happens.

I definitely recommend reading this book. If you’re one of those book purists who might want to see the movie…maybe see the movie first.

Timeline Notes!!!
Intro To Geek: 15:15
The Farscape Discussion: 27:55
Spears and Crumpets: 01:34:37

Spears and Crumpets: Jenna Busch hosts this weekly segment introducing you to fresh awesome geeky things you should check out this week!

This Week, we continue to discuss Star Wars(cause it’s big):

Also:

Check out Al’s web comic: Counter Agents
Make sure to follow: Reel Snobs on Twitter and look for their podcast coming Winter 2012!

Leave a Reply

