Intro to Geek #17, Shauncastic 118

Shauncastic 118

Hello hello! Another Shauncastic is out! This week we talk about ANIME!!! We nagged and nagged Shaun to do this topic for a while, but he kept waving our pleas away because *gasp!* he doesn’t like cartoons that are from the Land of the Rising Sun!

Well that’s not entirely true. He gives an okay reason as to why he doesn’t care for much of what anime has to offer since the 80s, but he’s missed so many good ones!

Al, Nathan, Rico, and I try to convince Shaun there is still some good out there while we list some of our favorites 🙂

I had a very long list, so of course I wasn’t able to name them all. Here’s what I had jotted down during the conversation:

  • Soul Eater
  • Genkatsuo: The Count of Monte Cristo
  • Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood
  • Samurai Champloo
  • Cowboy Bebop (Shaun was having a tough time swallowing our explanation. We may have to go A Clockwork Orange on him with this one. LOL!)
  • Ouran High School Host Club (thought it was going to be lame, but it’s totally hilarious)
  • Fruits Basket (slice of life with a celestial twist)
  • Trigun
  • FLCL
  • Ghost in the Shell (movie & TV)
  • Birdy the Mighty: Decode
  • Eden of the East
  • Speed Grapher
  • Le Chevalier D’Eon
  • Lupin III (my absolute favorite classic)
  • Princess Tutu (the one cutesy anime I’ve been able to stomach all the way through)
  • Scrapped Princess
  • Sailor Moon (can’t wait for the rebooted series)
  • High School of the Dead (beware of heavy melodrama and excessive fan service, but awesome gore)
  • Gundam Wing
  • Fairy Tail (Currently working on this after a friend kept telling me to watch it. It’s great so far. From the same creator behind Rave Master)
  • Akira (required watching no matter what)
  • Venus Wars
  • Devil Hunter Yohko (sexy times all around, lol)
  • Wolf’s Rain
  • Shamanic Princess
  • Blood+
  • Blood-C (so…much…blood…and censored gore – thank the gods)

I’m sure the list will continue to grow thanks to Netflix’s and Hulu’s library. I recommend perusing Hulu Plus’ collection; it’s bigger and a lot of them are subbed.

This week’s edition of Intro to Geek is the first of four Valiant Comics books I’m reviewing this month. Archer and Armstrong is my favorite of all the books currently out so far. It has that perfect blend of comedy and action — Christian ninjas living in secret at a Christian amusement park. Um, what?

Really, this is a fun read. I can’t shut up about how great this is.

Go! Read it!!!

Timeline Notes!!!
Intro To Geek: 14:20
Anime is My War: 32:00

Hey check me out. I’m on Twitter! @ChasFemGeek

One thought on “Intro to Geek #17, Shauncastic 118

  1. My anime list:

    Movies:

    Nausicaa and the Valley of the Wind
    Spirited Away
    Boah

    Oldies:

    Space Battleship Yamato
    Urusei Yatsura
    Macross (original version, made up the first season of Robotech in the US)
    Genesis Climber Mospaeda (made up the third season of Robotech in the US)
    Macross 2
    Macross 7 (fansubbed only, never brought to US)
    Kimagure Orange Road
    Mobile Suit Gundam
    Mobile Suit Gundam Zeta
    Mobile Suit Gundam Double Zeta
    Dragonball (IMHO far better than what came after)

    More recent:

    G Gundam
    Gundam Wing
    Gundam Unicorn
    Sailor Moon
    Dragonball Z
    Dragonball GT
    Tenchi Muyo
    Tenchi Universe (not Tenchi in Tokyo)
    Magical Girl Pretty Sammy (Tenchi Spood of the magical girl genre)
    El Hazard
    Irresponsible Captain Tylor (the first anime I bought for myself)
    Record of the Lodoss War
    Fushigi Yugi
    Vision of Escaflowne
    Neon Genesis Evangelion
    Martian Successor Nadesico
    Revolutionary Girl Utena
    Detective Conan
    Inuyasha
    Kenichi: The Mightiest Disciple
    X-Men: The Anime
    Transformers: Headmasters
    Transformers: Victory (Masterforce kinda sucked)
    Princess Nine
    Cardcaptor Sakura (no this is not the same thing as Cardcaptors, this is uncensored)
    Slayers
    Ruroni Kenshin
    Yu Yu Hakusho
    Sakura Wars
    GTO
    Dragon Half
    Magic Knight Rayearth
    Trigun
    Sorcerer Hunters
    Vampire Princess Miyu (my alternate choice for Shaun if he hadn’t asked for mechs)
    Ah My Goddess

    I tend not to be a big fan of anime movies as they feel that those tend to be style over substance – very pretty with little plot or far more symbolic then I’d prefer. I do think that there’s an anime out there for anyone and the more that I know/understand that person the better I’d be at picking an anime that suits them rather than what my favorite would be.

Leave a Reply

