Social Blackout – Day 20

Day 20 – Games, games, games!

IMG_0341

Ubisoft is anything if not consistent. Just from looking at this picture above, the game’s all about the pirates. Most of us can agree that the naval missions in Assassin’s Creed 3 were some of the best parts of the game. I’m not ashamed to say that I own every Assassin’s Creed game. It’s a franchise for which I continue to be excited. There’s just something about sneaking up on your prey and pouncing on them with your hidden blade buried into their spine. Or face. Or neck… I may be a little bloodthirsty when it comes to the kills. Further information from IGN.com says that Assassin’s Creed 4 will take place before the Revolution. Once more, we’ll be exploring Haytham “Smugface” Kenway’s father, Edward Kenway.

It is in this era that we’ll meet Edward Kenway, father of Haytham and grandfather of Connor, – clearly signifying the pursuit of what Ubisoft is calling the “Kenway saga” of Assassin’s Creed games. Where Haytham and Connor were present at the dawn of a new democracy, Edward will be tested by the failure of the old one.

Again, I’m very excited for this. One has to wonder, though: When are we gonna play a female ancestor of Conner’s?

Speaking of games, I finished The Walking Dead Game yesterday. If any of you followed my Twitter feed yesterday (I appear only on Sundays since they’re considered “rest days”), you know how emotionally scarred I was by the end of it. If I had someone else with me to actually video record my reactions, there would have been some serious laughing at my expense. There are a couple truly cringe-worthy decisions the player has to make in this game. And by cringe I really mean “Oh God why is it making me do this???” It’s one thing to make the decision, it’s another to enact that decision as well.

original-1

Then there’s Clementine, the sweet little Jiminy Cricket hanging over your shoulder. I was truly pleased with how the writers managed to make her your not-annoying moral compass. The player cares for her, wants to protect her both physically and mentally. There’s a tug and pull with your emotions because you also have to think about the well-being of the group. I wonder what happens if you’re a complete jerk to everyone. Do I even have it in me to be cruel to that sweet little, cartoon face? Hmm. I will tell you one thing though, there were many a times in my playthrough where I shook my fist in the air and yelled, “Damn it, Ben!” Guess how I ended that one.

And holy hell! There’s an “Oh shit” moment in Episode 5. Not the quick “Oh shit!” but the slow revelation where all you can say is “Ooooh shit.” If you’ve played the game, you know what I mean. If you haven’t, PLAY IT! and then you’ll know what I mean.

So many games left to play, and tomorrow I’ll be adding the new Tomb Raider to that list. TOMB RAIDER!!!!

Leave a Reply

