Social Blackout – Day 21

Day 21 – That’s some clearly delicious Tomb Raidin’

IMG_0566

It’s been a while since I last played a Tomb Raider game. All those angly polygons and flat surfaces. I never got very far in any of them because A) even at 9 years old, I preferred a controller over keyboard commands (my dad bought me Tomb Raider Gold for the PC), and B) I wasn’t very clever at 9, and I got stuck wandering a lot.

My how far we have come in graphics. This was 17 years ago, folks.

The new Tomb Raider looks absolutely beautiful! Parts of the gameplay during the first chapter calls back to Uncharted 3’s opening scene where you get to play through a cut scene. I didn’t get very far in the game, but I did get to sample some of the combat and the hunting. I came very close to just killing every little bunny and deer in the immediate area like I do in Assassin’s Creed 3. If you love the gruesome kills from Resident Evil 4, the openness of Arkham City, and everything about the Uncharted games, then you’ll love Tomb Raider. I have died a couple times, yes. My head got smashed in by a boulder, I got mauled by wolves, and I was shot full of arrows by crazy cultists — pretty sure they’re cultists. Don’t worry, I managed a few head shots with my own arrows. I even lit a guy on fire 🙂

You can’t see me right now, but I’m giving myself a congratulatory pat on the back for transferring my pre-order reservation from Colonial Marines to Tomb Raider. Good call, Janke. Good call. I also went ahead and pre-ordered Assassin’s Creed 4: Black Flag. Cuz why the hell not, right? The free poster drawn up by Todd McFarlane is pretty damn epic. Now if I can just find room on my wall…

Click here for Helana’s food blog, Clearly Delicious

Last night I booked a flight to Baton Rouge. I’ll be spending the last four days of Lent with my bestest best college roommate ever. She’s debuting her first cookbook titled The Fresh Table: Cooking in Louisiana All Year Round. April promises more exciting events as well. First I’ll be driving on over to Atlanta for a bachelorette party. The weekend after that I’m going to my alma mater for Alum Weekend. I’m squeeing with excitement.

Before I go to Columbia, I must finish my custom fountain pens. Oh yeah, Dad’s teaching me how to make pens. I have an idea to make wooden pens with bits of pages from a book plastered all around. I’m experimenting with different polyurethanes to see which seal the best. The other obstacle is assembling the fountain pen with a stronger glue. The kit we have asks that we super glue certain pieces together. Unacceptable! Must find a different way, or another kit.

Leave a Reply

