Intro to Geek #1

Shauncastic

Intro to Geek #1

Intro to Geek is now a standalone show (and a renumbering)! Come back every Monday to hear me bash, praise, or just give a movie/TV show/book/video game the cold shoulder.

Today Shaun and I talk about The Crow, starring the late Brandon Lee. As I kid, I had a slight fascination with the franchise. I vaguely remember seeing clips of the original movie, followed by its less than stellar sequels, but mostly the TV show. For the TV show, it was about the same level of fascination as I had for the Highlander series, but I remember more of the latter than the former. But being as young as I was, I had better things to occupy my TV time, like, McGuyver or whatever PBS was shoveling out at the same time.

When I finally sat down to watch it, I was stoked. I had heard how legendary the movie is, how absolutely awesome it is, how nothing can go wrong with my watching this movie. And then I turned it on…

Don’t get me wrong, the base storyline is a great concept. A supernatural force brings a wrongly murdered man back to life to right the wrongs that were done to him and his fiancé. It’s just that the entire movie, namely the performances, felt very flat to me. I didn’t feel the intense emotion exhibited by Eric. I could see it, I knew it was there, but I couldn’t feel his pain and anguish. Kristen Stewart could probably squeeze more angst out (dear lord, please know that I’m exaggerating).

Did someone say angst? GUITAR SMASH! RAWR, FEEL MY PAIN!!!!

Speaking of angst, there was definitely a lot of that going on. Angst and witches/wiccans. The 90s were notorious for exhibiting this melodramatic emotion in its media as it entered a mainstream goth phase. Then there’s the supernaturally sensitive lady whose sole purpose was to inexplicably create the Deus ex Machina in the movie. At least fucking stumble upon the information, for Pete’s sake! Did she even see the crow to come up with the idea that it is Eric’s weakness?! DeM’s always bug the crap out of me. Every movie has a chance to fall victim to it *coughStarTrekcough* but this particular move was just lazy and stupid.

“What’s my purpose, Albrecht?” “I don’t know. Canon fodder?”

The kid, Sarah, I know has a purpose in this movie besides being a nuisance to us and Albrecht as well as becoming the damsel in distress…but I can’t…quite put my finger on it… Oh right, she is supposed to represent the good left in the otherwise non-human dead guy walking around and killing a bunch of dudes. You don’t quite get that response, however, since they only meet for maybe two scenes in the entire movie. Other than that, her presence and side story meant entirely nothing to me.

The fight scenes, which I address in the show, were all kind of “meh” for me as well. The final showdown was great, I loved it, but there is so much waiting to get to that scene.

I think this movie was too hyped for me. I expected something great, and got something that probably equates to a made-for-TV movie from the late 90s to early 2000s. Y’know, something we watched when nothing else was on.

4 thoughts on “Intro to Geek #1

  1. Ahhhhh! The podcast and blog hurt my soul! I remember seeing this movie for the first time and being blown away. There’s a Poe-esque sort of gothacism about the whole film that does, at times, borderline on the absurd and contrived. But that was what was great for me about seeing this movie for the first time – there was a representation of a group of counterculture people that were really only represented as villains in regular movies or roadside attractions in horror films. You were essentially rooting for the “freak/goth/rocker” kid. That in itself was a phenomena to me.

    Is there some cheesy, nostalgic goodness about watching this movie? Absolutely! So maybe you just had to be there…

    p.s. +1 for the great soundtrack

    1. I guess do believe that it’s a case of “you just had to be there.” But that argument doesn’t quite justify my love of much older movies than The Crow. I think in this case, I just was never part of, nor am I the kind to partake today, the culture The Crow so strongly represents; the whole element kind of took me of the story, I suppose.

      1. That does make sense…I feel the same way about Bladerunner, but don’t tell anyone.

Leave a Reply

