Talking TALKING DEAD

Shauncastic

Shauncastic 139: Talking Dead Redux

Last night, I recorded my first podcast since the break! Shaun, Laura, and I had a last minute meeting to record this special homecoming episode, but mostly it was to get something off our chests.

Marilyn Manson, Jack Osbourne, and Gale Anne Hurd

We love The Walking Dead, and we love Chris Hardwick. Naturally, we enjoy watching Talking Dead right after a new episode to see what sort of conversations Hardwick has with his guests. Sunday night’s episode, however, was left wanting. It all has to do with Marilyn Manson, a generally intelligent person, speaking incoherently and just nearly derailing the show all together. Bless Hardwick for being a good moderator; he tried his best to stay on point.

In this episode, we talk for a few minutes about that hard-to-watch episode of Talking Dead, and then move on to the conversation we wished was discussed the other night.

Oh, and here is just a sampling of the bizarre things Manson was babbling [via ComicBook]:

Manson on zombie defecation and censorship.
Marilyn Manson: According to your theory, which I’ve heard previously, that they don’t defecate. If they poop it would smell a lot like my bathroom.”
Chris Hardwick: I get that question all the time with Twitter people. Do zombies poop? Number one I don’t write the show. Number two is his microphone down?
Marilyn Manson: You put my mic out. You’re trying to censor me.

Manson on zombies eating probiotics.
Gale Anne Hurd: You want the walkers to eat probiotics?
Marilyn Manson: No, I’m just saying she looks like Jamie Lee Curtis. It’s like the salt and pepper hair. It made me think of Activia.

Manson on Daryl and Carol.
Marilyn Manson: Didn’t you guys always think that she was going to sleep with Daryl?
Chris Hardwick: Well, that’s still on the table, as far as I’m concerned.

Manson on Shane’s criminal ears.
Marilyn Manson: It’s strange, because I love that it’s a zombie show. It’s essentially about morality, and you’ve got Grimes who for the most part tried to do what he thought was right. But in a zombie-type situation, where there’s no rules, morality, it goes right back to basics. It’s almost biblical, where you have to react. And Rick’s made the mistake of trying to save other people’s children, and it affected him losing his wife. Then, you have Shane, who I like to call criminally eary, because his ear looks criminal. There’s an old study about the shape of people’s ears makes them criminal or not.
Chris Hardwick: We are deep diving today.

Manson on the difference between Rick and The Governor.
Marilyn Manson: The difference between Rick and The Governor is The Governor did have his small community locked down in more of like a Hitler-type situation, where they all were afraid of him, and he ruled by fear.
Chris Hardwick: You had me until Hitler.
Marilyn Manson: What I’m saying is that he had everyone run by fear. Rick tried to run it more as a democracy.
Chris Hardwick: I’m understanding what you’re saying. I’m so excited.
Marilyn Mason: So I think that The Governor is going to lead the zombies because he’s so bad. And he’s going to lead them on a personal vendetta.
Chris Hardwick: I tell you what. If you’re right, I’m going to be so mad, because I’m not understanding anything else that you’ve said tonight, and this is actually a very good, lucid point.

Leave a Reply

